Somerset County Council
.

Early years contacts

 

Somerset Family Information Direct 
Early Years Commissioning Team 
Support Services for Education – Early Years 
Entitlements Team 
Early Years Area Sencos 
Somerset Centre for Integrated Learning (SCIL) 
Lead Childminders 
Early Years Quality Hub Co-ordinators and Cluster Leads 
Ofsted 
Somerset Safeguarding Children Board 
Out of hours safeguarding concerns 
Link Family Support Workers 
Link Health Visitors 
Early Help Assessment Co-ordinator 

Somerset Family Information Direct
Phone: 0300 123 2224
Email: childrens@somerset.gov.uk
Monday to Friday 8am to 6pm
Saturday and Sunday closed

Early Years Commissioning Team
Children and Learning Commissioning, PPB2S1, County Hall, Taunton TA1 4DY
Phone: 01823 357494 

Charlotte Wilson - Service Manager - Commissioning Early Years Places
Email cwilson@somerset.gov.uk  
Phone 01823 357386
Mobile 07976 688 762

Debbie Tarry – Project Officer Childcare 0 to 19
Support with capital projects
Email DTarry@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 355789
Mobile 07823 537445

Heather Stebbing – Project Officer
Communications - Early Years Newsletter and E-bulletins
Clerk to EY sub group and EY Partnership
Email HStebbing@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 357494

Grants Administrator
Extending and developing/sustainability grants
Email sfid@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 356948

Sufficiency Assessments for Somerset
Email sfid@somerset.gov.uk 
Phone 01823 355828

Support Services for Education – Early Years
Early Years Improvement Team
Cheddon Road, Taunton TA2 7QP
Advice Line 01823 348271 (open Monday to Thursday 8.30am to 5pm and Friday 8.30am to 4.30pm)
Email SSEEarlyYearsTeam@somerset.gov.uk

Alison Jeffery
Early Years and Primary Adviser
Early Years Improvement Team Leader
Email: AJeffery@somerset.gov.uk
Phone: 01823 348271
Mobile: 07977 401872

Nikki Difford – Senior Early Years & School Improvement Officer
Advice on business sustainability and financial planning
Support committees with effective practice and legislative requirements.
Email NLDifford@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 348271
Mobile 07919 540564

Sarah Love – Senior Early Years & School Improvement Officer
Advice on business sustainability and financial planning
Support committees with effective practice and legislative requirements
Inclusion funding, holiday play-schemes and out of school provision.
Email SPLove@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 356821
Mobile 07919 540711

Ros Fanshawe - Senior Early Years & School Improvement Officer
Offers guidance and support for the Quality Hubs and the Somerset Early Years Specialists
Phone 01823 348271
Mobile 07880 182455

Jo Sawyer - Early Years and Schools Improvement Officer
Supports and advises new and existing childcare provision
Provides support and guidance to Out of School provision 6 to 19
Email JSawyer@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 348271
Mobile 07976 816811

Abbie Thompson – Early Years and School Improvement Officer
Supports and advises new and existing childcare provision
Provides support and guidance to Out of School provision 6 to 19
Email AAThompson@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 348271
Mobile 07825 357650

Alison Highfield – Early Years and School Improvement Officer
Supports and advises new and existing childcare provision
Provides support and guidance to Out of School provision 6 to 19
Email AHighfield@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 348271
Mobile 07823 537446

Samantha Davies - Commercial & Business Senior Support Assistant
Clerk to Early Years Quality Improvement Group
Email SADavies@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 357597

Entitlements Team
County Hall, Taunton, TA1 4DY
Administration associated with the take up of the Early Years Entitlements for three and four years olds
Administration of the funding for eligible two year olds and free school meals.
Email eyfunding@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 357039

Early Years Area Sencos
Jane Barnett – Lead Area Senco - South Sedgemoor
Address: The Holway Centre, Keats Road, Taunton, TA1 2JB
Email: JBarnett@somerset.gov.uk

Karen Marsh – North Sedgemoor
Address: The Holway Centre, Keats Road, Taunton, TA1 2JB
Email: KMarsh@somerset.gov.uk

Ann Trippick – East Mendip
Address: PO Box 5176, Shepton Mallet, BA4 9DD
(Visitors please report to Reception, Mendip District Council Offices, Cannards Grave Road, Shepton Mallet, BA4 5BT)
Email: ATrippick@somerset.gov.uk 

Louise Shaw – West Mendip
Address: PO Box 5176, Shepton Mallet, BA4 9DD
(Visitors please report to Reception, Mendip District Council Offices, Cannards Grave Road, Shepton Mallet, BA4 5BT)
Email: LZShaw@somerset.gov.uk
Phone: 01749 822800

Wendy Toy – South Somerset West
Address: Morley House, 26 West Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1XE
Email: WToy@somerset.gov.uk 

Mikaela Jauncey – South Somerset East
Address: Morley House, 26 West Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1XE
Email MJauncey@somerset.gov.uk
Phone: 01935 463888

Sandy Robertson – Taunton area
Address The Holway Centre, Keats Road, Taunton, TA1 2JB
Email SRobertson@somerset.gov.uk

Judi Hayes – West Somerset
Address: The Holway Centre, Keats Road, Taunton, TA1 2JB
Email: JYHayes@somerset.gov.uk 

Somerset Centre for Integrated Learning (SCIL)
Training and professional development for all practitioners in early years, childminding, play and out of school settings.

For all general enquiries about Early Years Leadership and Peer to Peer Support Framework and Early Years Teaching Centres.

Address Cheddon Road, Taunton, TA2 7QP
Email SCIL@somerset.gov.uk
Phone 01823 348268
Website www.scilearning.org.uk 

Lead Childminders
Mendip
Karen Smith – The Bridge and The Key Centre (Frome)
Email fromeleadchildminder@gmail.com 
Phone 07748 030366

Leanne Lamb – Glastonbury and Street
Email Leanne.saunders71@gmail.com
Phone 07969 473706

Sedgemoor
Vacancy – Highbridge, Octopus (Burnham), The Valley (Cheddar)

Dawn Thake and Allison Marker – Victoria Park, Woolavington, Nether Stowey, Hamp, Sydenham and Eastover
Email: dawniechildcare70@sky.com and allymlead@gmail.com
Phone: Dawn - 07846080293, Allison - 07555578966

Taunton
Rachel Hume – Acorns, Hillside, The Hollies (Taunton), The Villages (Creech)Brock House (Norton Fitzwarren), Fledglings (Galmington)
Email rachelhume@live.co.uk
Phone 07775 712747

West Somerset and West Taunton Deane
Julie Weaver – Bishops Lydeard and Wiveliscombe
Email jwleadchildminder@gmail.com
Phone 07715 397172

Rachel Hume – Wellington
Email rachelhume@live.co.uk
Phone 07780 613466

Julie Weaver – Alcombe (Minehead), Dulverton, Wiliton, Little Vikings (Watchet)
Email jwleadchildminder@gmail.com 
Phone 07715 397172

South Somerset
Louise White – Jigsaw and Oaklands (Yeovil)
Email louisewhite.leadchildminder@yahoo.com
Phone 07437033247

Rebecca Lihou - Birchfield/Reckleford getset areas Yeovil – 
Email rlihou527@gmail.com  
Phone 07725628267

Nicola Thorne - Little Marsh getset area (including Ilchester, Martock,Stoke Sub Hambdon)
Email nicolathorne80@hotmail.com
Phone 07765026225

Kate Attebery – Levels
Email kateattebery@hotmail.co.uk
Phone 07900 056075

Carly North – Chard
Email carlynorth110@gmail.com
Phone 07790276347

Vanina Cooper - Ashlands (Crewkerne)
Email vanina@merriottchildcare.co.uk
Phone 07807753779

Elaine Fordrey – Balsam (Wincanton), Castle Cary
Email leadchildmindercastlecaryarea@yahoo.co.uk
Phone 07817 629004

Carly North – Ile Valley (Ilminster)
Email carlynorth110@gmail.com
Phone 07790 276347

Early Years Quality Hub Co-ordinators and Cluster Leads

Taunton

Incorporates Taunton Cluster
Rachel Parish – Co-ordinator
The Willow Set Pre-school
01823 491567
info@willowsetpreschool.org.uk  

Wiveliscombe, Wellington and Dulverton

Rebecca Batten – Co-ordinator
Fledglings Nursery
Cotford St Luke Primary
01823432569
rbatten@cotfordstlukeprimary.co.uk

Wiveliscombe/Bishops Lydeard
Chloe House
Beehive Day Nursery
01823 339110
chloe.house@beehivedaynursery.co.uk  

Dulverton
Alison Oakley
St Dubricius School
01643 862249
acoakley@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Wellington 
Vacancy

West Somerset 

Helen Robinson
Knights Templar School
01984 634385
hrobinson4@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Exmoor and Quantock 
Alison Oakley
St Dubricius School
01643 862249
acoakley@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Cheddar Valley

Helen Davies – Co-ordinator
Busy Bees Nursery, Axbridge
01934 732391  
Sch.018@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Sedgemoor - Bridgwater, Highbridge and Burnham

Helen Hazell – Co-ordinator
The Olive Tree Nursery
01278 457581
helen@theolivetreenursery.co.uk

Sedgemoor 1
Vacancy

Sedgemoor 2
Kailey Norris 
01278 683267
Little Willows Nursery
knorris@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Sedgemoor 3
Anna Matthews
Cannington Primary School
01278 652368
amatthews1@educ.somerset.gov.uk  

Chard, Langport and Somerton 

Lee Butt – Co-ordinator
Owlets 
Somerton
01458 272537  
Lbutt1@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Chard
Penny Kilbride
Honeycomb Nursery School
01460 63211
penny.kilbride@btinternet.com

Langport
Rebecca Lihou
Childminder
07725 628267
rlihou527@gmail.com

Ile Valley
Claire Bowditch 
ccraddock@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Yeovil 

Incorporates Yeovil Cluster
Rebecca Lihou – Co-ordinator
07725 628267 
rlihou527@btinternet.com 

Wincanton
Bernie Page
Ladybird Pre-school, Bruton
01749 813164
berniepage58@yahoo.co.uk 

Jenny Mayne and Paula Brown
Merriott Pre-school
01460 77922
Merriott.presch@btconnect.com 

Glastonbury, Wells, Street and Sheppey Valley

Lucy Smith – Co-ordinator
Millfield Prep
01458 832446
les@millfieldprep.com

Street/Glastonbury
Lucy Smith
Millfield Prep
01458 832446
les@millfieldprep.com

Shepton Mallet
Claire Dargie
Shepton Mallet Infant School and Nursery
01749 342322
cdargie@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Chilcompton and Wells
Elaine Blackmore
Red Room Pre-school, Chewton Mendip
01761 240700
elaine_blackmore@hotmail.com

Frome

Hilary Hayman – Co-ordinator
Frome Opportunity Group
01373 472731  
fon.hilaryhayman@btconnect.com

Ofsted
Address Piccadilly Gate, Store Street, Manchester, M1 2WD
Email enquiries@ofsted.gov.uk
Phone 0300 123 1231 Monday to Friday 8am to 6.45pm
Website www.ofsted.gov.uk/contact-us 

Somerset Safeguarding Children Board
Concerned about a child?
Phone Somerset Direct 0300 123 2224
Website http://sscb.safeguardingsomerset.org.uk/

Out of hours safeguarding concerns (evenings, weekends and bank holidays)
Emergency Duty Team 0300 123 2327

Link Family Support Workers
To find your link family support worker please contact your local getset hub:

Mendip getset Services and Children Centres
Sedgemoor getset Services and Children Centres
South Somerset getset Services and Children Centres
Taunton getset Services and Children Centres
West Somerset getset Services and Children Centres

Link Health Visitors
To find your link health visitor please contact your local health hub which can be found using the link below:
http://www.sompar.nhs.uk/contact-us/service-locations-map/ 

Early Help Assessment Co-ordinator
Philippa Small
01823 355803
EHACoordinator@somerset.gov.uk

» Indicates required fields

Feedback form
Was this information helpful? »