Spring Bank Holiday on Monday 27 May means all rubbish and recycling collections will be one day later that week, including Friday collections taking place on Saturday 1 June.
Recycling and rubbish collection days are changing for some households in Mendip and South Somerset. Read about the changes and how they may affect you.

Charter Trustees for Taunton

The Charter Trustees for Taunton are the 16 Somerset West and Taunton councillors elected to represent wards in the unparished area of Taunton which has no town or parish council of its own.

The Trustees elect a Mayor and Deputy Mayor for Taunton each year. The Mayor and Deputy uphold the traditional roles previously carried out by the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Taunton Deane within the boundary of the unparished area. They are separate to the Mayors for Dulverton, Minehead, Watchet and Wellington.

The Charter Trustees and the mayoralty are funded through a local tax, or precept, charged to Council Tax payers in the unparished area of Somerset West and Taunton. The precept is collected by Somerset Council through Council Tax bills.

Charter Trustees only have the power to raise a precept to cover the costs of their administration and the associated costs for the upkeep of the Civic Insignia or ‘Silver’ and the Mayoralty of Taunton. They cannot legally precept for taking on responsibilities and costs that Parish and Town Councils can such as grass cutting and public conveniences.

The Charter Trustees set their first precept for 2020/21 at £51,140 or £3.34 on a Band D property at their meeting on 23 January 2020. The minutes and papers for their meetings are accessible on our  website.

Last reviewed: February 5, 2024 by Adam

Next review due: August 5, 2024

Back to top