The list of candidates standing for election in the Parliamentary by election in Somerton and Frome is published today (Friday 23 June).

The statement of persons nominated can be found on Somerset Council’s Electoral Services webpage and the by election will take place on 20 July. The up-to-date list of polling places will also be published.

The candidates are: Lorna Corke (Christian Peoples Alliance); Martin Dimery (Green); Sarah Dyke (Liberal Democrat); Bruce Evans (Reform UK); Neil Guild (Labour); Rosie Mitchell (Independent); Faye Purbrick (Conservative); Peter Richardson (UK Independence Party).

Residents within the constituency are reminded to make sure they are registered to vote before the deadline of Tuesday 4 July. Those not on the electoral register should visit It takes around five minutes to register to vote – just make sure you have your National Insurance number to hand.

The final date to apply for a postal vote is Wednesday 5 July.

Voters will also need Voter ID if planning to vote in person at a polling station. Accepted forms if ID include passport; driving licence; an older person’s bus pass. More details are available here

You can still use your photo ID if it is out of date, if it looks like you. The name on your ID should be the same name you used to register to vote.

Those without the necessary ID can apply for the FREE Voter Authority Certificate (VAC) – the deadline is Wednesday 12 July. Applications can be made online, by post or in person. Help and advice is available from Somerset Council’s electoral team on 0300 123 2224.

Hand dropping ballot paper into ballot box

About this article

June 23, 2023

Debbie Rundle

Press Release