Three candidates are due to contest the vacant West Ward seat on Shepton Mallet Town Council when local electors go to the polls on Thursday 29 June.

Those nominated are: Janet Reilly (Future Shepton-Working Together for Shepton); Amber Smithwick (Liberal Democrat); and David Swain (Conservative). The vacancy was caused by the resignation of Cllr Sharon Hale.

Anyone eligible to vote must be registered by 13 June – for those who aren’t already registered, it is easy to do online here. Applications for postal vote are open until 5pm on 14 June, while the deadline for proxy votes is 5pm on 21 June.

People planning to vote in person at a polling station must provide photo ID – this can include a passport, driving licence or older person’s bus pass. The full list of acceptable ID can be found here:

You can still use your photo ID if it is out of date, if it looks like you. The name on your ID should be the same name you used to register to vote.

Those without the necessary ID still have time to apply for the FREE Voter Authority Certificate (VAC) – the deadline is 21 June. Applications can be made online, by post or in person. Help and advice is available from the Somerset elections team on 01749 341475 or 341391

Hand dropping ballot paper into ballot box

About this article

June 5, 2023

Debbie Rundle

Press Release