Voters in the Taunton area have elected the first members of the new Taunton Parish Council – the first parish-level council in Taunton for almost 50 years.

A total of 20 councillors were elected to represent 14 wards on the new council which came into being on 1 April, coinciding with the launch of Somerset Council

The results can be found on our website.

This year, for the first time, voters needed Voter ID to vote in person at a polling station. The average turnout was 29.39%, representing 12,254 of the total eligible electorate of 41,701. There were 56 rejected ballot papers.

The new parish council covers the previously unparished area of Taunton, the only part of Somerset not to have a city, town or parish council as a result of local government reorganisation in 1974, and includes the entirety of Comeytrowe Parish, the urban area within the Maidenbrook Ward of Cheddon Fitzpaine Parish, and the majority of Staplegrove Parish.

It will be responsible for parks and open spaces (excluding Vivary Park), toilets, events, allotments, and the Mayoralty. It will also be able to comment on planning applications.

More information can be found at Taunton Town Council ( and the Council can be contacted on: Email: Tel: 01823 793637, Council Offices, PO Box 998, Taunton, TA1 9QQ.

Image of Taunton centre

About this article

May 5, 2023

Jessica Bushell

Press Release