The list of candidates standing for election for a vacancy in the two-seat Somerton division on Somerset Council is published today (Monday 4 March). Local voters will be going to the polls on 28 March 2024. 

The four candidates are: Gregory Chambers (Lab); Matthew Geen (Green Party); David Hall (Con); Stephen Page (Lib Dem). 

Electors must be registered to cast their vote. If you are not already registered, it’s a quick and easy process that can be carried out online via the Government website.

The deadline for registration is midnight on Tuesday 12 March. Postal vote applications must be lodged by 5pm on Wednesday 13 March. Postal vote applications can now be done online via the Government website 

People planning to vote in person at a polling station must provide photo ID – this can include a passport, driving licence or older person’s bus pass. The full list of acceptable ID can be found on the Electoral Commission website.  

 You can still use your photo ID if it is out of date, if it looks like you. The name on your ID should be the same name you used to register to vote. 

Those without the necessary ID can apply for the FREE Voter Authority Certificate (VAC) – the deadline is 5pm on Wednesday 20 March. Applications can be made online, by post or in person. Help and advice is available from the Somerset elections team on 0300 123 2224. 

Advice and information about voter registration, Voter ID and ways of voting can be found on Somerset Council’s website. 


Photo of a black ballot box.

About this article

March 4, 2024

Rebecca Howat

Press Release