Recycling and rubbish collection days are changing for some households in Mendip and South Somerset. Read about the changes and how they may affect you.


The county is divided into 55 divisions and there are 110 councillors in total.

Following the elections on 5 May 2022 the Liberal Democrats were elected to a majority of seats and took control of the Council.

The current political make-up of the Council is as follows:

  • Liberal Democrat – 61
  • Conservative – 34
  • Labour – 5
  • The Green Party – 5
  • Independent – 3
  • No political group – 2

Use the button below to:

  • Find out who your local councillor is
  • Councillor contact details
  • Committees they belong to
  • Attendance records and register of interests

To find out who your local Somerset Councillor or MP is, you can search using your postcode by visiting the website Write to Them

Electoral Divisions

Document preview
Somerset Council Electoral Divisions Map 2023

PDF, 11.1MB

You can find out how you can register to vote and the latest election notices on our Electoral Services page.

Last reviewed: May 7, 2024 by Adam

Next review due: November 7, 2024

Back to top